Staving off the Sickies

One of the hardest parts of being a parent is having a sick child. This is my daughter’s first year in school (Pre-K) and she has come down with just about everything in the book. Two weeks ago it was a double ear infection followed by pink eye and this weekend she has been unable to keep anything down. There’s no fever, she wants to eat and drink but whatever goes in comes right back up. She is such a strong girl and it’s so hard to see her miserable. Though neither of us slept much last night, to make things easier, I covered the top of the bed and her pillow with towels so anything that didn’t make it into the bowl could be rolled up and removed without having to change the sheets thirty times at night.

The best way to handle sick kids is preparedness. Once we get through this bout of infection, I’m focusing entirely on prevention. Being prepared makes life a lot easier, especially being a single parent where you can’t just run to the store. When we do end up needing a prescription (which has been a total of three times in the past five years with two kids) I have them filled at the grocery store pharmacy so I can stock up on food, drinks and a movie for the sick kiddo from Redbox all in one stop. I have cold pillows in the freezer (rice filled bags that can be thrown into the microwave when heat therapy is needed) that come in handy for all sorts of ailments. They are very easy to make and I love giving these as gifts for mommies to be. I’ve made mini square ones for bumps and bruises too.

I try to keep Pedialyte Pops, Gatorade, Vitamin water, saltines and soup on hand and have a thermometer, Vick’s Vapor Rub, Children’s Tylenol, diaper rash ointment and eardrops in my medicine bag at all times. Thankfully, my kids rebound quickly but all of this sickness is wearing me out. It’s time to build up their immune systems and fight off these bugs before they bring them down! I’m looking into probiotics but any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

One Response to “Staving off the Sickies”

  1. Grandma Says:

    I’m excited to learn how your probiotics regiment works. You’re such a good mother….all will be well soon!!
    Hugs,
    Grandma

Leave a Reply

