Giving Thanks

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving, spent with the family of this baby baking away (the baby was baking, not me – I got to relax all day!). They are an amazing family and I feel blessed to have gotten to know them so much better over this past year and felt like we were with family over this holiday. I am also thankful for my family, many of whom we’ll get to see over the next month and all of our friends who have been so supportive throughout this experience. It’s hard to believe I’m going to not be pregnant very soon!

Our appointment on Wednesday went well. Weight and blood pressure were fine and I had just a little protein in my urine. My feet are still fluctuating with the swelling but no headaches, blurred vision or other indicators of pre-eclampsia. Our ob starts checking for dilation at thirty eight weeks, which we hit tomorrow. So at our appointment on Wednesday we’ll see if these contractions are producing any signs of impending labor. We asked our doctor her guess as to when she thought the baby would arrive and she said twelve days. That puts us on December 6th, my daughters’ birthday.

My soon to be five year old has wanted a hamster for months now and after a lot of consideration, I gave in. We took regular trips to the pet store, checking them out, figuring out what we’d need and getting tips on picking out the right one. The pet store we decided on had just put out weaned teddy bear hamsters last week so she ended up with an early birthday present. I let her unwrap the cage on Wednesday morning (she freaked out and was beyond excited) and we got it all ready with bedding and water then we went out to pick up her new baby “Teddy”. She wants to hold him all the time and has been very good about cleaning up after him, feeding him and can’t wait to get home when we are out to play with little Teddy.

Any guesses as to when baby girl will arrive? Let’s guess weight and length too. Here’s mine, please leave a guess in the comments!

DOB-   December 8th, 10:10 pm

Weight-   8 lbs 6 oz

Length-  20 inches

One Response to “Giving Thanks”

  1. pocketbebe Says:

    Dec. 13 (I know past the due date…two days past is when # 3 arrived for me hence the late guess but secretly hoping I don’t actually win this contest). 8 pounds 8 ounces and 21 inches long.

Leave a Reply

