Full Term!

Baby girl is now fully developed and considered full term as of yesterday. Anywhere between 37 and 42 weeks is full term, prior is premature and past 42 weeks (which I couldn’t imagine) is post-term. Our due date is only 20 days away but we all seem to think she might be a little early. She’s been measuring ahead in size and I’ve seemed to drop a little. It’s so exciting to have no idea when labor will come on but at the same time it makes planning things like my daughter’s birthday a challenge. For all I know, they could end up with the same birthday! Thankfully I will have family in town over her birthday weekend and it will be special no matter what we end up doing.

I’m trying to figure out my water retention mystery. I drink water all day long and don’t urinate as frequently as you’d think with how much fluid I consume. Then I get up about three times during the night with a full bladder. These last couple nights when I wake, I’ve had strong Braxton Hicks contractions, which makes the bathroom trips even more undesirable. I’ve weighed myself before bed and in the morning several nights in a row and it’s been a consistent 5 pound loss from night to morning, which is then replaced again the next day when the water cycle repeats. My feet are still a little swollen and they go up and down as well. Other than that I’m feeling great and can handle a couple more weeks of toting this little girl around.

 

5 Responses to “Full Term!”

  1. Chiara Says:

    so soon! cheering all of you on from Brooklyn, NY (until Friday when my family and I move down to DC).

  2. Grandma Says:

    Dear Leslie,
    I think I’ll leave Sat. I feel better on the road taking my time but rushing if I need to.
    Love,
    Grandma

    • happymamab Says:

      I’m sure once you are here all signs of pending labor will disappear and she’ll end up being late just to show us who’s in charge. We’re happy to have you any time though!

  3. Leana Says:

    Watercress is a folk medicine remedy for anemia, poor circulation, inflammation and edema. Remove the leaves from stems and eat it in a salad. 1/2 a bunch should be one serving. If you try it, I hope you’ll let me know if it helps your edema.

    Watercress is also “rich in essential fatty acids, chlorophyll, carotenoids, and minerals including iron, sulphur, calcium, iodine, and vanadium.”

  4. Leana Says:

    I get strong Braxton Hicks too when I’m trying to get out of bed and get to the bathroom. Makes it hard to walk too quickly. 😉

Leave a Reply

