29 Weeks

There are a lot of women who don’t like being pregnant. I’m not one of them. I think it is such a wonderful, miraculous experience and am grateful that I have been blessed with easy pregnancies and have this opportunity to help bring this little girl into the world. When the pregnancy comes up, I am quick to share that I am a surrogate since one question usually leads to another. Here’s a typical conversation:

“When are you due?”
“December 11”
“Is this your first?” (often asked when I am with my two children)
“Actually, this one isn’t mine. I have two of my own and am a surrogate for this one.”
“Wow, what a wonderful thing to do.”

When I run into someone I know who isn’t in the loop, once they’ve noticed the belly I like to say , “No, I’m not having another baby.” They look confused for a second and then I say, “I’m a surrogate. I’m pregnant but it’s someone else’s.” I love being able to share about surrogacy, as I find it all so fascinating. I have learned so much about the process in just a years time and looking back can’t believe how beautifully it has all unfolded.

We had a regular check up today and everything was great. I’m measuring right on schedule, continuing to gain weight and baby girl had a nice strong heartbeat in the 130s. I’m taking iron supplements since it came back low and hope they help increase my energy level a bit as well. This evening my kids and I walked down to the farmer’s market and made huge steamed artichokes for dinner with fresh rustic bread followed by a trip for frozen yogurt for dessert. It was the perfect meal for this incredibly hot night. I received the pre-admittance paperwork for the hospital today as well – we are in the home stretch!

6 Responses to “29 Weeks”

  1. Jimmy Says:

    I totally know where you’re coming from! XD

  2. Grandma Says:

    Another interesting peek into your life as you finish this incredible year. Thanks for sharing.
    Love,
    Grandma

  3. Surrogate to be Says:

    I have a son, about to be 10, and a daughter, who is 4. I am preparing to be a gestational carrier and would like advice about how and when to tell my children that this baby will not be ours to keep. Embryo transfer should occur in mid October. Thanks for sharing your story.

    • happymamab Says:

      I talked to my daughter about it before the transfer (because I was talking about it to others and wanted her to know what was going on). I let her know I wanted to help the mom and dad have a new baby and they were going to put their teeny egg into my belly and once it was grown into a baby it would come out at the hospital and they would take it home with them. She completely “got it” and once we had a positive beta I told her the baby was now growing in my tummy. She’s been fine with it all along and understands it’s not our baby. Good luck to you!

  4. Surrogate to be Says:

    Did she have more questions, like how does the egg get in your belly? Earliest transfer date is the 13th of this month. Thanks for the advice.

    • happymamab Says:

      I think she did ask if it when in through my throat (or she had asked if that was how they get out) 🙂 I keep answers pretty simple and then elaborate if necessary. I’d say, “I’m going to go to the doctors and they are going put an egg into my tummy to help grow a baby for ___.” If she asks how – they go in through a little hole near where your pee comes out. You can also mention that some eggs grow into babies and some don’t (this will help if you end up doing multiple transfers). Kind of like how chickens lay lots of eggs but not everyone becomes a chick. Hope that helps! They seem to understand way more than we’d think.

Leave a Reply

