E for Effort

Trying to figure out what to have for dinner has been tricky lately. Tonight around six thirty I decided I wanted a baked potato. Sadly, the first thing I did was go online and look at menus and considered getting take out. Seriously? Take out for a baked potato?! So, I loaded up the kids and headed to the grocery store which is a mere three blocks away. The result – an amazingly delicious baked potato topped with steamed broccoli, zucchini, melted cheddar cheese and sour cream. I’m not usually a fan of nuked foods but it was ready in ten minutes and came out great. Not only did I cook, I ate my vegetables too.

5 Responses to “E for Effort”

  1. Carmela Says:

    Good for you! 🙂 Next time, put a Texas spin on it with chopped beef and BBQ sauce! haha

  2. Carmela Says:

    Oh! LOL Well yes, chopped beef won’t be on the menu then. 🙂 If you don’t mine, maybe I’ll pick your brain about vegetarian recipes one day.

  3. Serina Says:

    I need to remember baked potatoes more often… I always love them when I have them. One way to have it fast and still get the crispy skin effect of a “real” baked potato is to microwave it for like 10 minutes while the oven preheats, then finish it in the oven for 10 minutes or so (depending on size). It takes a little longer, but they’re goooood (if you like to eat the skin and everything that is, otherwise don’t bother 🙂

    • happymamab Says:

      I cooked it in the microwave for ten minutes, cut it in half and flaked it up. Then topped it with the steamed veggies and cheese and melted it for another minute. After I ate it and had the skin left I sprinkled a little more cheese on it and melted that and added a little sour cream. Mmmmm! I like the idea of throwing it in the oven though. I’ve never liked cooking foods in the microwave but sometimes it’s a lifesaver! Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

