Grow Baby, Grow!

I have waves of queasiness throughout the day but am thankful I haven’t had any morning sickness. It’s hard to figure out what to eat that doesn’t sound nauseating but once I do eat something I feel much better. Lately fruit, smoothies and veggie pizza have been sounding good pretty regularly.  On Monday night around ten, I started bleeding bright red blood. I had just read about another surrogate’s experience with this and she went to the ER and everything was just fine, so I wasn’t completely freaked out but still a little worried. I called the on call doctor and got a call back about a half an hour later from my doctor. He said not to worry, this is very common and I could go in for an ultrasound the next morning or get my blood work done locally to make sure my HCG levels were still rising. By the time he called the bleeding had stopped so I went to bed and called mom to be in the morning. She ended up calling the OB we planned on transferring to once we “graduated” from the fertility clinic and got us in for an appointment that afternoon.  I met our new doctor, who is wonderful and she did an ultrasound. Everything looked perfect. The baby is measuring at 7 weeks and had a strong heartbeat. There was no sign of where the bleeding came from so she ordered lab work to check my progesterone levels as well. Apparently bleeding is very common in IVF patients, up to 75% experience it at some point! It was so reassuring to see that everything is okay and on track and mom and dad now have another photo for the baby book!

2 Responses to “Grow Baby, Grow!”

  1. Leana Says:

    I always crave cheese and crackers when I’m pregnant. Salt/fat/protein, yummy. And when I had queeziness, they did the trick.

    Blood would be frightening. This is the first I’ve heard about it being “normal” for IVF. Maybe due to the baby aspirin? Good to know. My transfer is Monday. !!

    • happymamab Says:

      Yes, wheat thins and swiss has been one of my favorite snacks! I was never on baby aspirin so that wasn’t it. I’m just surprised they don’t warn you about the possibility of it happening – if I hadn’t just read about the same thing it would’ve been really scary! Good luck on your transfer on Monday! I’ll be thinking positive thoughts for you!

Leave a Reply

