Another 2 Week Wait

The past few days have been incredibly exciting. The two hour time frame after our blood draw was seemingly as long as the eleven days we had waited since the transfer. A friend had come down with me and was at a nearby mall waiting with my kiddos while I went in to get my blood drawn. I was back within thirty minutes so we went and played with adorable puppies at the pet store, went to Build-A-Bear, and let the kids run around in the play area. I was surprised to get a call from the mom to be but was so happy that she was the one to tell me the news! The clinic had called her first with the beta results and she was the one to fill me in. I think it’s fabulous they did it this way; it’s her baby after all. I had a repeat beta today and while I don’t have the exact number, it was good! My hCG level was just shy of doubling every 48 hours. Our next appointment is an entire two weeks away from today, when we’ll have our first ultrasound. I will be six weeks pregnant by then and we should be able to see the itty bitty heartbeat.

My medications remain the same until then, 2 ccs of progesterone daily and .25 mL of delestrogen twice a week. Last night was my double injection night and I managed to get blood on my draw back twice! After the needle is fully in, you pull back slightly to make sure there’s no blood. Sure enough, there was. So I had to take the needle out, put on a new one and poke again. I went to my other side for the next injection and did it again! I ended up jabbing myself four times instead of two. It freaked me out a little so today I asked the phlebotomist what would happen if I had injected it into that spot and she said it would probably just cause bruising and I’d probably just hit blood vessels. I was imagining much worse!

I am supposed to take it easy until the ultrasound and continue to use my stomach muscles as little as possible. I keep asking, “Can I vacuum yet?” And she keeps telling to hold off as long as possible (now until after the U/S). When our babysitter was here on Tuesday, I reluctantly asked her if she’d please do me a huge favor and vacuum for me. I said I’d pay her a little extra. I came home from work to a completely clean house! The kids’ room was organized beautifully and their million animals were all nicely tucked away onto the bookshelves. My day got even better when the dad to be dropped by with a gift card to my favorite Mexican restaurant to help with my pregnancy cravings. I am surrounded by caring, thoughtful people and I couldn’t be happier about this surrogacy!

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Another 2 Week Wait”

  1. Grandma Says:

    Dear Leslie,
    Your attitude of appreciating your adventure and your gratitude for all the good that is coming your way is so heart warming. Thanks for sharing.
    Love,
    Grandma

  2. Rebekah Says:

    Aww!! That is awesome that you have such a fantastic group to support you through your pregnancy!! Can’t wait to follow along! 🙂

  3. Joni Says:

    Hello Leslie,
    You don’t know me, but I know your Intended Parents. We too used a Surrogate to create our family. After a torturous 8 year struggle we were blessed with B/G twins who are the lights of our lives. You are doing such a wonderful thing for our friends…it is a very special gift you are giving them. It’s not just WHAT you are doing for them – which is monumental. It’s THE WAY you are including them in your pregnancy that really warms my heart. It was not the case with our pregnancy, so I wanted you to know how much it warms my heart to know that you are doing it the way I had always envisioned it would (and quite frankly, should) be.

    Please be well and continue to take good care of that precious cargo you’re carrying.

    With appreciation,

    Joni

Leave a Reply

