How I Do It

I’m often asked, “How do you do it?” in reference to being a happy single mama. I think the biggest part of it is my perspective and attitude towards life and parenting in general. My kids are such loving, joyful, appreciative little people and have always felt like a blessing. We definitely have our moments when I need to go and sit alone in my time out chair, but for the most part, we are in a groove and everything always manages to fall into place. I live life knowing everything is going to work out and it always does. For instance, our upcoming transfer is on a Thursday and I am required to follow it with two days of bed rest. Every Friday, I watch a little girl for a few hours in the afternoon. Yesterday, her mom mentioned she won’t be coming on the 26th because of a school event and offered to take my daughter for the afternoon as well. It’s amazing how everything comes together so effortlessly. As a personal and real estate assistant, my work fluctuates a lot making child care my biggest challenge. It is so hard to put half your income towards a babysitter, often needing one last minute, but I have to do what I need to do. I do childcare as well to add a little extra income and work from home as a virtual assistant when the kids are sleeping. Preschool is in the near future for my daughter and my son will be following behind her shortly. Until then, I’ll continue to spend as many waking hours with them as possible, teaching and nurturing their blossoming personalities.

I have talked to my children like little people from the time they were in the womb. Even though they can’t reciprocate speaking wise until they are into their first year, they pick up on the language and rhythms of your voice. I used simple sign language such as “all done”, “more”, “milk” and “eat”, which helped with early communication. I let them know what we are doing throughout the day such as where we are headed and what we are going to do there. I was amazed when my two year old would recognize the streets we were on, knowing whose home or what was near by. Every night I ask, “What was your favorite part of the day?” Then we talk about what’s in store for tomorrow and big events later in the week. I think this relationship has helped us immensely, making them feel just as involved and gives them a sense of control over what’s happening. Without them, I wouldn’t be taking on this surrogacy journey. I am so happy to have this opportunity to help bring a child into the world for another family and I know it will be an incredible experience for my children as well. Life is miraculous.

Tags:

One Response to “How I Do It”

  1. Serina Says:

    Leslie, you’re amazing! What a great perspective… XO, S

Leave a Reply

