I’m Not So Brave After All

Sticking freakishly big needles into my hip muscle is awful. I managed to give myself the Delestrogen shot tonight but it was horrible. When given to me, I barely felt a thing. Doing it myself, OUCH! I don’t know if it was the angle or maybe my muscle was tense, but it was painful. I put the needle halfway in, couldn’t go any further then started again. The second poke was just as bad and I started to feel queasy. Racing heartbeat, nausea, and pain are not a good combo when you have a large needle jabbed into your side. Thankfully these are only twice a week, so I can get help, but the Progesterone is going to be daily for weeks. I’m a little frightened.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “I’m Not So Brave After All”

  1. Leana Says:

    Please feel free to read my tips regarding shots. The most painful part should be getting through the skin. Make sure you are sitting if you’re giving it yourself, that way your muscle will be relaxed. And remember that your Intended Mother has already done these shots 100 times. 🙂

    You did switch the needle to a 22gg or smaller, right?

    • happymamab Says:

      Yes, I switched the needle to the smaller [enormous] one. I was standing up and probably tensing up because of the anticipation. It is hard to relax when you are preparing to stick yourself with a huge needle! Thanks for the tips. I’m going to try it sitting when I get up the courage to give myself one again. I definitely prefer to have someone else stick me!

  2. Leana Says:

    Oops, I just saw your message on my blog. My inbox had routed it to SPAM! Definately try it sitting. And pull the skin tight with your free hand… that will help the needle go through more easily. And always let the alcohol dry for a moment before injecting (the alcohol stings when wet).

    🙂

  3. Sabrina Says:

    I found, my first time around, that it was easiest to completely relax if you’re laying down! Good luck!

  4. Double Shot « Not Mine, This Time! Says:

    […] in right beside the first one. I am so happy that the injections are going smoothly. After my first horrendous experience giving myself an intramuscular injection, I wasn’t sure I’d be able to self administer […]

Leave a Reply

