It’s really happening!

A little over three months ago a friend asked if I’d be interested in being a gestational surrogate. My initial feeling was an absolute yes, but I knew this was a huge commitment with all sorts of possible challenges and something I really needed to fully process. After giving it much thought, weighing out the positives and possible negatives, it seemed like such a wonderful thing to do. We met to casually discuss our views on the situation and both felt it was a natural fit. I had a phone consultation with the surrogacy coordinator at the fertility clinic and was given my first task to get the ball rolling. They couldn’t begin the medical side of the process until three months after breastfeeding has stopped. My son was 14 months old and I was ready for my nursing days to be over. Since then, I have undergone a psychological evaluation, dealt with life insurance, health insurance, the contract, attorneys, had two ultrasounds, a pap smear, and given 10 vials of blood for screening. The three months flew by and here we are, with a schedule! I started birth control pills on December 4th and will begin Lupron injections on the 27th, which is a synthetic version of the naturally occurring gonadotropin releasing hormone and suppresses shedding of the lining of the uterus during menstruation. I will continue taking the pill until December 2nd. If all goes well, I’ll start my period a few days later. The mom to be will go in for egg retrieval on the 21st and we’ll transfer ONE embryo on the 26th!

I am truly looking forward to being pregnant again. I’ve had two easy pregnancies and quick, drug free (with the exception of pitocin to induce with the 2nd) labors. I am thrilled to be able to carry a baby for an amazing family, and give them peace of mind knowing their offspring is in a happy and healthy womb.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “It’s really happening!”

  1. Mom Says:

    I love the name of your blog! What a gift you have offered to your friends! You are a truly special woman. I will be looking forward to every chapter of your amazing journey. Love, Mom

  2. Gina Says:

    Thank you for sharing your blog with me. I think what you are doing is amazing, and will be following your journey closely! I too love the name of your blog…very unique and cute! Best wishes to you, Gina~

  3. errewas Says:

    Bearing a child for a childless couple is a great thing. Surrogate mother makes the dream of parents to have children come true. Today the statistics data of the people, who because of different reasons can not bear their own child, is deplorable. And every year more and more people are forced to resort to surrogate mothers services. The surrogacy is allowed in the U.S., Russia, Ukraine, and India. But if in the United States and Russia, this procedure costs a lot, in Ukraine and India the children’s carrying has more affordable price. Therefore, childless couples are forced to travel a lot to make their dreams come true.

Leave a Reply

